Article Detail

Engineering tech, computer info systems faculty win teaching award

A pair of professors – each innovative in his respective field and active in his discipline outside the classroom – have won the top instructional award available to Camden County College. Lawrence M. Chatman Jr. of Wilmington, Del., and William J. Taylor of Sewell received the 2011 Lindback Distinguished Teaching Award.


According to academic affairs Vice President Margaret Hamilton, instructors are nominated based largely on their concern and sensitivity to the needs of their students and their ability to demonstrate positive learning outcomes.


"Teachers are nominated based on their human quality in the classroom," Hamilton said. "Most of all, the Lindback Distinguished Teaching Award is given to a teacher who has had a lasting influence."


Chatman joined the College's full-time faculty in 1992 and currently serves as coordinator of engineering programs. He authored and now directs a National Science Foundation Science Technology Engineering Mathematics (STEM) Grant that provides full scholarships to students pursuing careers in STEM-related fields. He also served on the CCC team that developed a program in alternative energy engineering technology, participates in the American Society of Engineering Education and runs the College's annual National Engineers Week competition for pre-college students. Chatman holds a bachelor's degree from Rutgers University, a master's degree from the University of Pittsburgh and a doctorate from Wilmington University.


Taylor also became a full-time faculty member at the College in 1992, teaching courses in computer science. For the last several years, he has been the co-principal investigator on a National Science Foundation grant that is funding the integration of the Alice three-dimensional programming tool – which was co-developed by the late "Last Lecture" creator Randy Pausch of Carnegie Mellon University – into introductory programming courses. Because of his efforts, CCC was the first community college in the United States to offer a course using the Alice programming tool. Taylor holds a bachelor's degree from Drexel University and master's degrees from Temple University and Drexel University.


A faculty committee selected Chatman and Taylor for the award, which is funded by the Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Foundation. Prior winners include Jennifer Hoheisel (2010), Elisabeth Bass (2009), Dianne Falvo and Carla Monticelli (2008), Faustino Gonzalez (2007), William Wilhelm (2006), Robert Lorenzi (2005), Dorothy Brown and Hoda Zaki (2004), Catherine Boos (2003), Kelly Jackson (2002), Claire Berger (2001), Adrienne Coons (2000), Paul Harris (1999) and Ellen Freedman (1998).

Published: June 13, 2011